Explorers 6: Treasure Island


ISBN: 9781405060288
Paperback: 96 pages
Publisher: Macmillan Education
Language: English
Shipping Weight: 0.16 kg



The Macmillan English Explorers are an eight-level series, supported by a four-level phonics scheme, suitable for children aged between 4 and 12.

Each Reader is illustrated in full colour and contains one complete story. The stories have been written using high-frequency words, plus story-specific words which as far as possible are clarified by illustrations.

Written specifically for young learners of English, this scheme has been informed by teaching methodology for first-language speakers of English. The Readers plus supplementary materials can be used alongside any primary course.

Key features

  • The rich variety of texts, from original fiction to legends, means any child can enjoy reading, wherever their interests lie
  • The comprehension Workbooks develop a range of reading skills while the Phonics Workbooks support the systematic teaching of phonics
  • Word-recognition skills are reinforced by the Workbooks and word cards in the Teacher’s Notes
  • Cross-curricular content at higher levels means children can make links to other school subjects
  • The stories promote social values such as friendship and respect


Support materials

  • Teacher’s Notes are available for free from the Macmillan Young Learners website. They include page-by-page lesson notes and ‘Comprehension Extra’ activities
  • The accompanying audio is downloadable for free from the website and gives children the opportunity to listen to the stories while they read the books

Additional information

Weight 0.16 kg
Dimensions 21 × 15.6 × 0.6 cm

You may also like…